Starting anew

10

May 27, 2012 by talkaboutyork

For many years I have written over at Home Office Mum, my first foray into the blogging world. It has been my own little slice of internet real estate. It’s not tried to be fancy. It was just where I bared my soul about life as a somewhat bewildered mother. I like to believe that I have graduated from pre-school to primary school in the parenting stakes. I feel slightly more confident, slightly less concerned about things (as evidenced by the increasing consumption of both television and fizzy pop by my children) and a substantial amount older. I think I shall continue to have concerns and wailing and fist clenching as my children grow from being children to tweens to teens. I fear my alcohol consumption may escalate further.

But we have a new adventure which we’re about to embark on. And I felt it deserved a shiny new blog.

We’re moving to York, a place I know next to nothing about. It is through this blog that I hope to become enlightened and thus, cast an illuminating light on the city for anyone else not yet acquainted with it.

I’d like to say that it’s the capital city of Yorkshire, but even with that tiny piece of knowledge, I find myself coming unstuck. I even googled it. I am none the wiser. Suffice to say it is the ancient capital and a beautiful medieval city with a stonking huge church in the middle of it called ‘the Minster’. It is surrounded by ancient city walls. It has a castle which doesn’t really look like a castle. The centre is fully pedestrianised. There are two rivers that run through it and which flood often – the Ouse (pronouced ooze) and the Foss (pronouced Foss). It has some famous tearooms, lots of shops and restaurants, a big wheel, a railway museum, a viking centre and a museum of chocolate (my kind of place). And thus ends my knowledge. I gleaned all of this on three previous day long trips.

You can probably tell I have a long way to go before I become the definitive insider’s guide to York. But that is my end goal. Mark my words, before you know it I will have BBC Radio York (which incidentally we can see from our new house – more on that in another post) calling me asking for expert opinion on the city’s hot topics. Or not. But let’s aim high.

Our move is still two months away, so until then I’m not really able to completely get stuck into the nitty gritty details on where to go and what to do. But I feel the build up to a move from the country to the city needs an airing. And this blog, is the virtual washing line upon which it shall be aired.  Please follow me. Tell your friends. Like me on Facebook. I shall need an army of followers if I’m ever going to make it onto Look North (faints from excitement at the prospect).

10 thoughts on “Starting anew

  1. Vicky says:

    Well, I for one am now giddy with excitement at the prospect of coming to visit your new city. Better make sure the spare rooms are ready 🙂

  2. How exciting. It’s been a long time since I visited York, but I remember loving it when I did. There was a brilliant museum, as I recall, with a whole Victorian (?) street you could walk down. Enjoy!

  3. Can’t wait to hear all about the move and life in York! Am sad that you’re leaving W. Berks though, just before we come back…..

  4. metropolitanmum says:

    There you are! I am expecting great things and hope that a little bit of enlightenment rubs off. I have no idea about anything outside of London.

  5. Dot says:

    I blog-hopped to your blog from Bringing Up Charlie. I’d just like to say that I lived in York for six years and I absolutely loved it. I was a student (MA and then PhD), so I had a rather different lifestyle to the one you’re likely to have, but a lot of the things I love about York are as good for families as they are for free young impoverished singles – the walkable scale of the city, the accessible green spaces (the Museum Garden and Walmgate Stray being the ones I went to most), the numerous public events and community spirit, the gorgeous old buildings, and the excellent travel connections by road and rail. And the weather really isn’t that bad either.

    • Welcome Dot and thanks for the positive plug about York. Having just returned from a fleeting visit I can honestly say I am more and more excited. I can imagine that as a student it would be incredible. I am hoping it’s as much fun as a mum! Please visit again

Leave a Reply

