Find a life that fits

10

September 24, 2012 by talkaboutyork

It’s a rainy, drab, dark morning. It’s darker and colder still in my house where the electricity and water have been turned off as the builders continue their daily assault on my sanity. So I head out in search of somewhere warm, bright, cosy and with free flowing coffee.

Walking past the Minster, the wind seems to channel godly powers as it swirls around the vast walls, turning umbrellas inside out. Rain flies upwards and sideways rendering brollies useless anyway.

I have found a spot. I settle into a squishy chair, sipping on a latte, watching the rain swirl outside, listening to some 1940s style big band swing tinnily coming out of a radio. This is bliss. This is how I imagine life in York to be.

It gives flight to my creativity. It makes me want to become someone exciting, full of potential, someone about to take on a new adventure. The whole of my life seems to lie glistening ahead of me. I can’t see how it is going to turn out. It is unpredictable and it is that that I find exhilarating.

My life isn’t full – it has gaps in it that need filling, but the choices to fill it seem heady and I feel that I have the luxury of time to make up my mind.

In the meantime, we are experiencing the warmth of friendship that seems to radiate off the people here. From long lunches with new girlfriends, to afternoons spent trying on each others clothes, a friend doing my hair for a ball, being invited to a ball in the first place, meeting like minded people who’ve since extended invitations for dinners out, to spontaneous invitations for cups of tea and cake….we haven’t had a chance to feel lonely or new.

I am so very glad we moved here. It was a very hard decision to leave behind a life that was perfectly good. But occasionally the grass is greener on the other side. It’s still life and it will be full of ups and downs, but I’m glad we were brave enough to recognise that our old life didn’t quite fit us properly and that it was time for something new.

If you’ve found your perfect life, enjoy your idyll, happy in the knowledge that it fits.

But if the life you’re living doesn’t feel quite right, don’t sit and wonder what life could be life. Just be brave enough to try something new. You may not find utopia but you never know.

10 thoughts on “Find a life that fits

  1. Suzie says:

    What timing! We are about to leave London for pastures new…terrified and excited at the same time and your post is a regular reminder as to why I need to be brave enough to bite the bullet and push aside all worries…

  2. Potty Mummy says:

    It’s certainly worth a shot! x

  3. I approve whole heartedly – sometimes you have to make that leap.
    My only trouble is, I think the life here fits quite well, apart from the fact that it’s not in England. I need to find a life in England that has aspects of what we have here, and then I’ll be content.

  4. A very inspiring post! On two levels. Firstly, I love how you escaped an annoying moment and found your own special, even if temporary place. I loved how it made you feel alive, optimistic and inspired. Secondly, I love how you embraced this adventure and invited change into your life in the first place and just went for it. And now you’re discovering fantastic things! How cool!

  5. Iota says:

    Fabulous post. So glad that you are finding your niche in York. That’s wonderful.

Leave a Reply

