Motherhood-

Leave a comment

December 13, 2012 by talkaboutyork

I don’t know about how the rest of you feel, but I am ready for 2012 to be over. It’s been a massively exciting year, but let’s face it, moving house and living through a house renovation is exhausting and stressful.

I feel as though normal life has been on hold now for a full year and I’d like to revert to situation normal. Where we can eat dinner around a dining table as opposed to on the floor in the sitting room. I’d like to spend my spare time reading or running or seeing friends, rather than chores, chores, chores. I don’t want to have to think about selling stuff on ebay. And a life where I can consider working again.

So if I’m feeling tired, I’m pretty sure my children are too. They’ve had to get used to a new school and make new friends and live in a building site and have very stressed out parents. Grumpiness is to be expected.

But we are having a few difficulties with one of our children. Anyone who has followed my blog/s over the last five years will know which child I am talking about. He seems to have entered a phase that I like to call ‘Not giving a toss’ combined with ‘It’s not my fault’.

Having started off the school year well, there are now a few areas (nothing big) that he needs to work on. But this is not something he wants to do. He can create an excuse about why it’s something or someone else’s fault for just about anything. (The reason his brother got dressed for school and he didn’t was because his brother didn’t have baked beans for breakfast – genuine reason given). The reason he can’t do his homework is because it’s unfair that he has to do it in the first place. He doesn’t care that he’s been graded poorly on a few assignments and he doesn’t care if his work isn’t good enough. Because according to him, it doesn’t matter.

This morning we ended up with him hysterical because we were insisting that he did something (something perfectly reasonable I might add but something he finds difficult, yet is something he just HAS to learn to do). And as a result, we are going to have more hysterics this afternoon when he gets back from school as the situation is not resolved.

I am sure that a couple of weeks off over Christmas will do him the world of good, but sometimes it is so hard to keep teaching them life’s lessons, particularly as they make you immensely unpopular and half the time you aren’t sure you’re even right. It takes soooo much energy.  It would be so much easier to be less worried, less concerned, less interested and to just let them do what they want to do. Which is why when I saw this sign this morning, it rang very true for me.

To all the mothers out there, keep up the good work. And may you get a good night’s sleep in your Christmas stocking and less grumpy children in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

