Toiletries for boys

7

January 21, 2013 by talkaboutyork

I have a new idea. If you’ve followed my blog (and previous blogs) for a while, you’ll know that I am prone to crazy ideas every now and then. I’ve had another, much to my husband’s dismay. (A quick aside: We watched a ridiculous film with Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd recently called ‘Wanderlust’. In one scene, Paul is yelling at his wife (Jennifer) saying that she never sticks to anything. First there’s the coffee shop idea, then the Buddhist retreat idea, then the documentary film making idea….. My husband watched that and said that it was like watching his life. Nice.)

Anyway, back to the idea. I have two boys. Aged 7 and almost 9. They are definitely, definitely no longer in the little boy phase. They are just boys. Not teens. Not men. Just that very special breed of creature called BOYS.

And they are boys who play a lot of sport and get covered in mud on a regular basis. They could star in Ariel adverts as to why dirt is good. Even when they’re not playing sport, they’re jumping on each other extracting and smearing blood or waving dooberries (technical term) at the Wii and working up a sweat. Or they’re eating and spilling / wiping food on themselves. They occasionally pee on themselves. And the older of the two definitely smells of sweat. Deodorant for an 8 year old? Just hadn’t entered my head until I took a whiff of his pits recently and nearly passed out.

If ever there was a group of people who need to use soap, it is boys aged between the ages of six and twelve. But take a look in supermarkets and online and see what products you can find that are aimed at this group. Nada. Zilch. Zip (in the UK at least, I can’t vouch for the rest of the world.)

You can buy a myriad of pink things. And you can buy revolting cartoon branded products which would probably melt your child’s skin off. Besides, Ben 10 and Spongebob Squarepants are like sooooo three years ago. There is nothing that is aimed at boys of this age that a) they want to use and b) parents want them to use.

So that got me thinking. Quite a lot. I think I’m onto something. I’ve been doing quite a bit of research but I need to do a bit more.

And I need your help. If you could please take my mega super quick survey of just 10 questions, please click here. You will need to have boys between the ages of 6 and 12 to take the survey. So if you don’t just leave me a comment below about the weather or something.

Ta very much. I’m off to put on a load of very dirty laundry now.

7 thoughts on “Toiletries for boys

  1. Lynette says:

    Answered the survey. Great idea about giving boys their own sense of pride around cleanliness. My twins are only 6, yet sometimes the foul is overpowering.

  2. Potty Mummy says:

    Hi – just did your survey but the thing that occurred to me; how likely, really, is it that the boys will be buying it themselves? My two never even get to the supermarket with me; I’m the one who does all the buying, for the moment at any rate. My take would be yes, make the packaging & contents acceptable to boys so they are happy to use it unsupervised, of course that is important, but really it’s the mums you need to get on side, maybe by highlighting the effectiveness of the product, the price and / or longevity, and the environmental / skin care elements. (i.e., for me, the most important thing is no lanolin which sets off their eczema and if possible, organic products. Plus no parabens etc). Anyway – if you want more feedback, just email – pottymummy at g mail dot com… Good luck with it, anyway!

  3. Thanks for answering the survey ladies. And Potty you are right. I does have to appeal to mums, but once at home, the boys have got to want to use it, sort of have a sense of ownership about it – thinking ‘this is mine and it’s cool’. It’s trying to get the balance right. I’ll definitely email you once i’m a bit further down the line to brain pick!

  4. I did it too. My boys are not that bothered what they use (although they like Angry Birds on everything) but but I’d buy them something specifically for boys if it wasn’t too pricey.

  5. Iota says:

    I did the survey. Question 4 only gave scope for yes or no, but I wanted to say maybe.

  6. […] started the year full of vigour and ideas on what work I wanted to do. I wrote a business plan for a business concept I thought had a great deal of merit. I still think the idea as merit, but I guess part of writing a […]

Leave a Reply

