Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

5

April 22, 2013 by talkaboutyork

I’ve been having a fat day. You know those days, where your muffin top seems to have received an added tablespoon of baking powder and bicarb so that it rises and bubbles and bursts out of the top of your jeans? And I got my hair cut and coloured last week and I hate it. I don’t hate it as much as I hated the way the hairdresser made me look like Farah Fawcett after they had finished styling it, but I still hate it.

I also seriously dislike my double chin and the fact that it now has wrinkles so is on the slippery slope to becoming a waddle. And speaking of wrinkles, I don’t really like those either, specially the ones that I don’t see when I look in the mirror but when I look at photos of me smiling, all I see are little arcs radiating out from the corner of my eyes.

But then I watched this.

It’s a campaign by Dove that shows just how skewed women’s perceptions of themselves are. I urge all women to watch it (not because I have shares in Dove, I don’t) but because I think it is a good reminder to us all to love ourselves a little bit more.

I have had low self esteem for years. But I now have a circle of lovely, gorgeous, amazing girlfriends who seem to always make me feel better about myself. I truly hope that I do the same for them, but I need to do more. Because they are all beautiful. In so many ways. To all of my girlfriends, sisters, mum, aunts, cousins, fellow bloggers – all over the world – you are friggin gorgeous. Believe it.

And now that you realise how gorgeous you are, watch this to create a few more laughter lines. It’s the male version…..

5 thoughts on “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

  1. Sarah says:

    Now then lady…..have you seen the photo of you on Friday night…….you looked absolutely stunning! If I could post it here I would ……foxy lady, muffin top or not! Xx

  2. judithkingston says:

    Yes, I am taking your muffin top/waddle-thing with a pinch of salt! You are probably very beautiful, definitely more beautiful than you think you are. I have never met you but I feel pretty confident in saying that. What a great video! Shame it’s advertising a product…

  3. We covered the “real” one at work, but hadn’t seen the guy one yet…hilarious!
    Agree, I’ve met you in the flesh and you are extremely pretty….

  4. Ah the muffin top. I spent half of last year carrying about four pounds more than I usually do (thanks summer spent eating and drinking), and it made all the difference to me not fitting into jeans. I have just lost it and intend to lose a little more. The freedom of being about to wear tops that actually touch my body (rather than swinging loosely away from said muffin) is so great.

  5. Iota says:

    I have a muffin top on top of my muffin top. I really need to lose weight. I’m not just saying this.
    The trouble is, if you don’t hate your muffin top, what’s the motivation to get rid of it? But how can you hate it without feeling bad about yourself?

Leave a Reply

