My Britmums hello

19

May 12, 2013 by talkaboutyork

I will be attending Britmums in June. For non-bloggers, this is a blogging conference that gives people like me the chance to meet other bloggers. I have been once before but this year I have a very specific reason for going: the writing track. There is an amazing looking agenda for people like me who want to get published.

That said, it would be lovely to not turn up and not know a soul. So here is my Britmums intro. If you are going and want to join in, you can find the linky for intros here.

For anyone going, please do say hello in the comments section below and I will try to find you there!

This is me!

This is me!

Name: Melissa

Blog: Talk About York (Formerly Home Office Mum and More to life than laundry)

Twitter ID: @melissatalago

Height: 5ft 7ish

Hair: Shoulder length blonde/brown

Eyes: Green

Is this your first blogging conference?

No – I attended Britmums two years ago.

Are you attending both days?

Yes but I might have to duck out early on day two as I have a ball to go to. Just call me Cinderella.

What are you most looking forward to at BritMums Live 2013?

The writers track, particularly getting to learn how to get published and what agents want. If I can get a slot to pitch my story idea in the literary agents dragon’s den, that would be fab!

What are you wearing?

No idea – something comfortable!

What do you hope to gain from BritMums Live 2013?

To catch up with some old faces, to learn more about writing and to leave inspired.

Tell us one thing about you that not everyone knows

I am South African – so I’ll be the one with the funny accent.

Oh and I like wine. And champagne. And cosmopolitans…..

19 thoughts on “My Britmums hello

  1. judithkingston says:

    I’ll be there – it would be lovely to meet you!

  2. Oh Brilliant! Would be lovely to meet you to. Let’s swap numbers closer to the time and arrange to meet somewhere

  3. Potty Mummy says:

    I’ll be there too – let’s catch up on our books as you suggested! x

  4. HonestMum says:

    Will be lovely to meet you-my husband is SA and we live in Leeds-often in York too! Have liked your FB page! See you soon!

  5. Bum I really want to go to all the WRITE sessions but I’m only there on Saturday so I may have to corner you and find out all the hot tips over a coffee!

  6. Hello! I’ve just discovered you via BritMums, but may well live around the corner from you (well, not far anyway). I was in north London when I started my blog – hence the name – but I’m now back in York. Should be going to BritMums, so see you there? Would be good to get to know someone local!

    • Melissa says:

      Hello!!! And a big wave to you fellow Yorker. I would love to meet up. Admittedly, having read your blog, you are five years younger than me so I might have to stab you (not really, I’m not really a psycho) but despite your youth I shall still talk to you. Because I’m nice like that. I might even drop you an email so that we can get in touch before then. If you’re travelling down by train we could possibly travel together. (I’m a bit excited about finding a fellow blogger from York. Can you tell?)

      • A big wave to you, too – and glad to know you’re not a psycho! Meeting up would be great. I’m in the midst of packing for our holiday on Saturday so life is ridiculously chaotic, but will get in touch on our return. Not sorry to see the back of this rain – vile!

  7. pinkoddy says:

    Good luck with the book.

  8. Hi Melissa, I found you via the BritMums Live linky, as I’m a first time attendee too. Also interested in checking out the WRITE sessions, although I suspect I may be one of those people you mention in your post writers who don’t write (well, except to write about writing). Good luck with the novel.

  9. Hope you find your writing answers there. No such grand ambitions for me. I can’t manage a post without spell check but will be lovely to meet you!

  10. ellieallatsea says:

    Not long to go now – eek – its exciting!

Leave a Reply

