A few words

3

July 15, 2013 by talkaboutyork

Image

Relax as hard as you like. That’s the tag line of the holiday company whose facilities we are currently enjoying. So far I have filled my days with yoga, aquafit, legs bums & tums, boxercise, sailing, kayaking, racing, swimming, lying next to a pool and eating. A lot. 

And I am indeed relaxed. Mainly because the children are entertained at kids clubs all day and I don’t have to cook, clean or do laundry other than rinse out sun cream covered swimsuits. There is also only WiFi in one part of the hotel which makes it impossible to stay glued to a screen. You can forget that the world exists. 

For one week I forgot all about writing and focused on reading instead. But every line of every book I read serves as a small nudge, a whispering voice saying ‘write, write, write’. Words start forming in my head, ideas churn. 

Which is why I have escaped from the pool (having done my morning’s yoga) to painstakingly type a few words on this blog. Painstaking as it’s done on my iPad which has the most annoying keyboard in the world (Take note Apple, I would like a backspace button and I don’t need you to turn the word apple into pimple, but if that is what you think of yourself, go for it). 

I can’t write much more as my aquafit class is about to start, but I feel better for having typed a few words. like being cleansed, slightly. I will have to invest in a pen and notebook so that I can scrawl thoughts whenever the urge takes me. 

 

I will have more words on my return.

3 thoughts on “A few words

  1. Glad to hear you’re relaxing. Notebook and pen are essentials when I go away. It’s the perfect way to keep up the writing but not disappear into the online world.
    Nice toenails!

  2. barbedwords says:

    I’ve just come back from a week away with no Wi-Fi and, whilst I did feel a bit cut off from the virtual world, it is a good way to recharge the old mental batteries. Totally agree about the ipad – why no back space???

  3. […] had some fantastic holidays and trips over summer, a sailing holiday in Turkey, going to Cowes Regatta, trips to Whitby and just plenty of getting out and about in York and […]

Leave a Reply

